Content being validated
Villages classified as Grand Cru
Although seven grape varieties can be used in the composition of a champagne, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier and Pinot Noir account for more than 98% of the production. Pinot Noir is the king grape of the Montagne de Reims (Reims Mountain) champagnes. It gives the wine body and red fruit aromas. The cool, chalky soils suit it well. When it is produced from Pinot Noir or Pinot Meunier, champagne is called “blanc de noirs”. But if it is made from Chardonnay, it is called “blanc de blancs”. Ambonnay and Bouzy are among the 5% of wine-producing communes in the Champagne region to be classified as Grand Cru.
Read More
Related content

Médias en cours d’exploration