Content being validated
The double church of the Invalides
Built by order of Louis XIV, under the supervision of Jules Hardouin-Mansart, the church of Saint-Louis des Invalides was completed in 1678. One needs to enter the main court of the Hôtel des Invalides to discover the facade of its main entrance. The construction of the Royal Chapel of the Dome began two years later. Originally, the two buildings were to form a single entity. The nave of the Saint-Louis church was intended for the soldiers. The Dome part, reserved for the king, formed the transept and the choir of the whole. The invalids and the king would thus attend the same religious services from an altar at the end of the nave.
Read More
Related content

Médias en cours d’exploration