Content being validated
Kanak territorial subdivisions
The customary district or 'large chiefdom' is a Kanak subdivision parallel to the administrative subdivisions of New Caledonia. It is based on the influence areas of the big chiefs, their tribes and clans, or on possible social or linguistic realities. There are 57 customary districts in New Caledonia including 28 in the North province. Poindimié is part of the Paici-Camuki area which is itself divided into two districts : the Bayes district - to which the Napoémien tribe (photo) belongs - and the Wagap district.
Read More
Related content

Médias en cours d’exploration