Content being validated
Hierarchy of appellations in Burgundy
The labels of Burgundy wines always mention the wine’s ‘appellation d’origine contrôlée’. The ‘Regional’ appellations indicate the production areas: Bourgogne, Bourgogne Aligoté, Bourgogne Mousseux, Côteaux Bourguignons, Bourgogne Passetoutgrains and Crémant de Bourgogne. The ‘Villages’ appellations indicate the village where the wine is produced (Gevrey-Chambertin, Nuits-Saint-Georges, Santenay, etc.). The ‘Villages Premiers Crus’ are produced on vineyards delimited by the name of a locality. Finally, the ‘Grands Crus’ are produced on parcels (also known as ‘climats’) which are classified as grand cru, constituting the highest level of wine quality.
Read More
Related content

Médias en cours d’exploration