Content being validated
EU protected species
The European Union is rich in biodiversity, which it protects with the help of two directives. Firstly, the Birds Directive (1979) targets 181 threatened species and subspecies that require special attention. And secondly, the Habitats Fauna Flora Directive (1992), which lists more than 200 natural habitat types, 200 animal species, and 500 plant species that require protection. Based on these inventories, EU states are responsible for creating Special Protection Areas (SPAs) and Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), which are grouped together in the Natura 2000 network. For example, the “Lac de Der-Chantecoq Natura 2000 site” dates from 2004.
Read More
Related content

Médias en cours d’exploration