Content being validated
Rimatara's three districts
Rimatara is divided into three districts or villages: Amara, Motua'ura also known as Anaho and Anapoto (also called Mata'irani, its former name). The concentration of the population near the coasts is the result of a practice put in place by the London Missionary Society during the Christianization in the XIXth century. A church was built near the coastline and the inhabitants were encouraged to settle down around it making disappear the local practice of scattered construction.
Read More
Related content

Media currently exploring