Content being validated
A unique architectural heritage
The name of Honfleur probably comes from Hona, a Viking chief, and fleur, which means on the river. The town consists of three main districts: Saint-Léonard, L'Enclos, and Sainte-Catherine. The Vieux Bassin, along Quai Sainte-Catherine, was built by Colbert between 1668 and 1690 and contributed to Honfleur's maritime prosperity. Large and tall houses grew around the Havre de l'Enclos and Quai Sainte-Catherine. Mrs. de Montpensier sold the lands along the new quay in small plots, hence the obligation to build high up. The dwellings are adorned with slate tiles, sometimes decorated with marine or religious motifs.
Read More
Related content

Médias en cours d’exploration