Content being validated
Natural World Heritage property
In 2008, UNESCO inscribed the New Caledonian great barrier reef and lagoon as a world heritage site thanks to 3 criteria : the beauty of the reef, its richness in marine species and the good health of its ecosystems. Six zones representing 60% of the lagoon have been classified : three on Grande-Terre (south area of the large lagoon, west coastal area, north and east coastal areas) and three island zones (north area of the large lagoon, Entrecasteaux reefs, Ouvéa island lagoon).
Read More
Related content

Media currently exploring