Content being validated
Avignon, a considerable heritage
Located at the confluence of the Rhône and the Durance in the Vaucluse department, Avignon is the sixteenth urban area in France by its population which amounted to 93,671 inhabitants in 2017. It was classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995 for its 14th century ramparts and its historic center made up of the papal palace, the episcopal complex, the Doms rock and the famous Avignon bridge or Saint-Bénézet bridge visible in this photo.
Read More
Related content

Media currently exploring